Outer Cape Members

The LeHac House

 

Bianca Bowman (She/Her/Hers)

Hi! My name is Bianca, I’m 23 years old and I’ve spent most of my life in Northern Virginia/Washington, D.C. area. However, I lived in Andover, MA during high school, and my family recently moved to Miami last year. I studied at William & Mary in Williamsburg, Virginia and graduated in May 2020 with degrees in Environmental Science & Policy and English Literature. Visiting family in Costa Rica and Panama growing up probably sparked my love for environmental and conservation work. I also got to learn about sustainable farming and international environmental conservation when I studied abroad in Chiang Mai, Thailand during college! Some of my hobbies include skiing, scuba diving, painting, and reading. I’m extremely excited to be back in Massachusetts on Cape Cod, where I can’t wait to hike, bike, swim, and explore all that the Cape has to offer. Doing environmental work is a lifelong goal of mine, and I’m so glad I get to do it this year in such a beautiful place!

Tristan Jilson (He/Him/His)

My name is Tristan Jilson and I am 24 years old. I grew up in Fredericksburg, Virginia and spent most of my summers visiting my grandparents (on my dad’s side) on Cape Cod in Sandwich. I graduated from Virginia Tech in 2018 with a degree in Wildlife Conservation. During my time at Virginia Tech, I was involved with The Wildlife Society, Student Government Association, and the Student Alumni Association. I also spent one summer as an Orientation Leader, welcoming incoming freshmen. A month after I graduated, I got on a plane and flew to Guyana in South America to serve in the Peace Corps. After two months of training along the coast, I moved to a small indigenous community in the Rupununi region and worked as an Environmental Educator at a primary school. I co-taught science lessons with local teachers and ran a wildlife club on the weekends. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, I was evacuated from Guyana five months before I was supposed to finish. I am excited that I get to continue to serve as an AmeriCorps member on Cape Cod and continue working towards conserving our environment.

James Whitaker (He/Him/His)

Hello, My name is James. I have lived in Massachusetts all of my life and I have spent a lot of time on the Cape. After spending my life fishing and camping around northern New England, I’ve come to appreciate the ecology and beauty my home state has to offer. I have recently graduated from Cornell University with two degrees in Philosophy and History. While exploring potential graduate school options and career paths, I hope to get involved in the critical work needed to maintain and protect the nature of the American northeast, and the Cape Cod AmeriCorps program seems like an ideal way to get involved in those local conservation efforts. In my spare time I enjoy fishing, my favorite targets are trout and salmon. I also enjoy cooking and exercise. I am very eager to begin my AmeriCorps experience!

Jordan Halloran (She/Her/Hers)

Hi y’all! My name is Jordan Halloran and I am a 22-year-old native Cape Codder. I spent the last four years in Winter Park, FL getting my bachelor’s in marine biology and environmental studies. I spent the last academic year conducting research on Environmental Justice communities whose strong leaders and grassroots activism demanded environmental clean-up/restoration and, in some cases, relocation of the community residents. In a different project, I also conducted research on anthropogenic causes of death in North Atlantic Right Whales including ship strikes, entanglements, noise pollution, and chronic stress. A few summers ago, I interned at the Cape Cod Museum of Natural History where I performed live feedings in the aquarium and spoke with museum visitors about the animals who lived there! On a field study to Damariscotta, ME, I once saw Atlantic puffins at Eastern Egg Island, the world’s first restored Puffin colony.

Being from Cape Cod, I love to go to the beach, be on the water, and go fishing. I also love to hike, bike, camp & swim! Some of my favorite places to hike have been all throughout New Hampshire, Acadia National Park (ME), Econ River Wilderness Area (Orlando, FL) & the Tenorio Volcano (Costa Rica)! My go-to swimming spot on Cape is Bass River; cold & refreshing, and a little work out too if you catch the right tides! I also love to go birding at the Seashore! I’m incredibly excited to spend 11 months in my favorite place & serve my community with AmeriCorps!

The Devine House

 

Caroline Stephen (They/Them/Theirs)

Hello, my name is Caroline Stephen, I’m 26 years old and I’m from Marlborough, Massachusetts. I graduated from Roger Williams University in 2016 with a degree in Psychology and a minor in Gender and Sexuality Studies. After college I did a term as a Corps Member with AmeriCorps National Civilian Community Corps in the North Central Region in Vinton, Iowa. I loved the service I did with NCCC so much that after working as an apprentice at a local farm for a year, I returned to the North Central Region to serve another year as a Support Team Leader. I have a passion for native plants and working to better our planet. I have grown a love of service and I am happy to be serving again close to home and helping out people and wildlife in Massachusetts. After this term of service, I plant to attend Sterling College in Vermont and study either Ecology or Sustainable Agriculture.

Mary Doucette (She/Her/Hers)

Hi, I’m Mary and I am a Brewster native! I graduated college in the spring of 2020 with a BA in environmental studies and sociology, and hopefully down the line I will be graduating from a P.h.D. program. I have a strong interest in researching the relationships between human society and the environment, but also have passions for volunteering, making music, and inline skating (if you have ever been on the bike path in the summer, there’s a good chance you’ve seen me skate on by). I am thrilled to be spending this year with AmeriCorps Cape Cod and learning even more about the community I grew up in.

Ashley Bourdreau (She/Her/Hers)

My name is Ashley Boudreau and I traveled all the way from Monterey, California! I was born in Newton, Massachusetts and was raised in Nashua, New Hampshire for most of my life. My family and I moved to Central California in 2013, and I received my bachelor’s degree in Global Studies from California State University Monterey Bay in the spring of 2019. Following that, I served my first term as an AmeriCorps Volunteer Infrastructure Project (VIP) Fellow at a local nonprofit that specializes in refurbishing computers and providing low-cost computer systems, classes/workshops, and technology assistance/computer repair to low-income families and individuals. I am really looking forward to serving another term in AmeriCorps and coming back to my roots on the East Coast. I’ve always been interested in people, culture and environmentalism and I am ready to make my mark on Cape Cod!

Julia Gerard (She/Her/Hers)

My name is Julia Gerard, I am 21 years old and from Buffalo, NY. In May I graduated from the SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry (ESF) in Syracuse, NY with a degree in Conservation Biology and a minor in Applied Statistics. My studies allowed me to conduct research in the scrublands of Florida and the Adirondack Mountains in NY. In the past I worked as an environmental educator/boat steward along the Erie Canal where I checked watercrafts for invasive species. While at ESF, I was the Vice President and Volunteer Coordinator of the Food Recovery Network, an organization that takes leftover food from dining halls and donates it to agencies in the area in need of food. I am interested in inspiring environmental stewardship in others and working to conserve the Earth and its natural resources. I am excited to join AmeriCorps Cape Cod to combine my passion for the environment with my desire to serve the community!