Upper Cape Members

The Ranch House (Barnstable)

 

Chansea Montgomery (She/her/hers)

Hiya, my name is Chansea – I am 19 years old and from Topeka, Kansas (the state’s capital city!). Through University I was a part of a volunteer and community-based group called the LinC Bonner Scholar Program, where I worked on numerous humanitarian efforts both nationally and within my city. Environmental Sustainability and Conservation have since captured my interests. Being a low-waster is just a personal touch to better this planet. 🙂 I love to be adventurous, learn new skillsets, taking photos, running, hiking, climbing, cycling & cooking. I am a compassionate person who cares to make a positive impact and ready to meet new people in the process!

Katharine McGovern (She/her/hers)

Hello! My name is Katie, I’m 22 years old and I am from Stoneham, Massachusetts. I just graduated from Stonehill College this past May where I majored in both Environmental Studies and Communication. During my time at Stonehill, I was able to spend a semester studying abroad in Cork City, Ireland and travel throughout Europe while I was there. All of the beautiful, diverse landscapes that I was fortunate enough to experience during my travels deeply strengthened the love and appreciation that I have for the environment. My love for the outdoors and all things nature stems from all the summers I have spent growing up in a small coastal town in Maine. As I grew older I began to feel more and more compelled to protect the beautiful environment that I was living in and knew that I wanted to make a career out of it. I am so excited to experience new coastal towns on Cape Cod and do my part to serve them as well as the community that calls them home during my time as an AmeriCorpsCC member!

Kelsey Leahy (She/Her/Hers)

My name is Kelsey Leahy and I am exceedingly useful. Mostly I show up places, play the oboe, and fold origami, but my interests are vast. I was born in Beverly, MA but moved to Myrtle Beach, SC when I was two and a half. I moved to Spartanburg, SC for college in 2006 and wound up spending 13 years in Hub City. I received a BA in Sociology from Wofford in 2010 and a BA in Music from Converse in 2015, having studied oboe with Dr. Kelly Vaneman since 2006. I am a freelance musician: I teach private lessons, I hand make oboe reeds, I am hired to play at different churches and schools, and I play with local musicians doing improv in whatever style is happening (I really enjoy blues, funk, folk, and alternative music). I closed out my time in Spartanburg as an AmeriCorps*VISTA with United Way of Piedmont, and now I want to do direct service. I enjoy doing the work that needs to be done to help our community and our world. I decided to do an AmeriCorps year on Cape Cod to be close to my family and to give back to the community that I have been visiting ever since I left Massachusetts as a baby. After my time on Cape Cod, I will be moving forward with my music career, building a private studio while working at different music festivals and camps to spread the knowledge of music and the love of the earth. Keep up with the Vagabond Oboist at oboerockstar.com!

Esra Depp (He/Him/His)

Hello! My name is Esra Depp! I’m a 20-year-old from Boston, Massachusetts. For the past two years, I have been studying art at The School of the Art Institute of Chicago. I’ve been lucky enough to have family on the Cape and have been making frequent visits to Bourne and Falmouth for as long as I can remember. I’m so excited to be part of the AmeriCorp Cape Cod program because it will allow me to help and give back to an environment that has been so important to me for my entire life.   Some of my hobbies include reading, drawing, hiking, climbing, swimming, and simply wandering around and enjoying the outdoors.

The Pocasset House (Bourne)

 

Jordanne Feldman (She/Her/Hers)

Hi! My name is Jordanne and I am 22 years old. I am from Upstate New York but I have lived in California and Hawaii as well! I recently graduated from the University of Rhode Island where I studied Geology with a concentration in Hydrology. I really enjoyed my classes at URI and I was fortunate enough to have an internship working with their Cooperative Extension where I went around to the community and discussed safe drinking water practices. I loved interacting with the community and dealing with environmental issues so once I graduated I decided to look into the organization that would allow me to pursue that passion. In my spare time, I enjoy swimming, kayaking, hiking, and spending as much time as possible outside! I am so excited to be living in beautiful Cape Cod, and I look forward to exploring all it has to offer.

Daniel Flockton (He/Him/His)

Hello all, my name is Dan Flockton. I grew up in Carver, Massachusetts and am a recent graduate of Bridgewater State University with a degree in History. In fall 2019, I interned for Barnstable County, serving at the Cape Cod Cooperative Extension as their Aquifer Protection Intern. I organized and hosted a workshop that sought to familiarize Cape Codders with the Massachusetts Office of Technical Assistance and Technology (OTA) and the resources it offers. My internship with the Cape Cod Cooperative Extension was an amazing experience. When I learned of the AmeriCorps Cape Cod program I jumped at the opportunity to return to Barnstable County. I look forward to assisting with natural resource management and disaster preparedness efforts across the Cape. In my spare time, I like to read, write, run, hike, watch movies, and play board games.

Lourdes Abreu Torres (She/Her/Hers)

Hello! My name is Lourdes and I am a recent graduate from Rutgers University. I majored in Environmental Science and minored in Latino and Caribbean studies. I was born in the Dominican Republic and moved to the United States at the age of six. Living between both countries and seeing the difference in their connection to their environment, sparked my interest in the Environmental field. I wanted to learn more about it but also experience as much of the environment as I possibly can. During my years in college, I had the privilege of traveling to Peru and learning about different environmental factors impacting the country and hike Machu Picchu. I had the privilege of working with youth in Flint, testing water for lead and also Youth in New York where I helped introduce them to different environmental concepts and engage in stewardship of the Ridgewood Reservoir. In my free time, I love to travel and explore. I enjoy hiking, the beach (even though I cannot swim, but I am willing to learn). My favorite pass time is drinking coffee and watching Netflix. I am excited to continue doing environmental work and making life long friendships at Cape Cod!

Emily Smith (She/Her/Hers)

My name is Emily Smith, and I am a 22-year-old from Murrells Inlet, South Carolina. I have lived on the coast of SC until I attended Clemson University where I received my degree in Environment and Natural Resources with a concentration of economics. I minored in Political Science due to my passion to stay informed and work with the various policies dealing with natural resources. I have also completed undergrad research working with oyster reef restoration and fell in love with what I learned dealing with biosystems engineering. Spending my life on the Southeast Coast, I am most excited about this opportunity to work with AmeriCorps on the Northeast Coast and the changes with the environmental landscape.

Andrew Schwitzgebel (He/Him/His)

My name is Andrew, I’m 23, and I’m from all over the country (5 states in the last 4 years, most recently California). I have a BS in Microbiology from The University of Alabama (Roll Tide). There I was engaged in research into the microbial ecology of the Gulf of Mexico, specifically how the Deepwater Horizon oil spill of 2012 affected that ecology. I think that’s where my interest in preserving biodiversity comes from. Conserving biodiversity, and especially the genetic diversity within a species is a priority for me. As a result, I pursued a career in conservation after college, and this past year I’ve been living in Northern California working with the California Conservation Corps and Americorps as a Watershed Stewards Program member. There, we focus mainly on native salmonid species conservation and restoration, but also watershed-wide issues like excessive sedimentation and invasive species. A large part of that job includes youth education, and I’ve enjoyed teaching the children of my small town more than I thought I would! This year I’m looking forward to learning about a new ecology and new environmental issues on Cape Cod and doing my part to help preserve it all. Outside of work I enjoy anything that gets me outdoors. Mountain climbing, backpacking, biking, running, rock climbing, and really any team or individual sport get me excited, and I can’t wait to explore the Cape’s recreational opportunities.

Sarah Paulson (She/Her/Hers)

My name is Sarah and I am a 23-year-old originally from Needham, MA. I recently graduated from Wesleyan University in Connecticut where I was a biology major with certificates in environmental studies and informatics and modeling. In college, I was also a member of the varsity women’s crew team, president of the Outing Club, and teaching assistant for a variety of courses. In my free time I love to get outside and do a variety of activities including hiking, running, rowing, sailing, and swimming. During a gap year before college, I also learned to scuba dive and I have been passionate about marine conservation ever since. I am excited to be joining AmeriCorps Cape Cod this year to learn about, and volunteer with, conservation projects happening throughout the Cape.

Alexandra Davies (She/Her/Hers)

Hi! My name is Alexandra Davies and I’m 22 years old. I’m from New Jersey, and I recently graduated from Ramapo College with a degree in Literature and Creative Writing. I’ve focused my research on feminist literature across the globe. In my junior year, I studied abroad in Berlin, Germany. I have a deep love for adventure and I’ve traveled around Europe, as well as the U.S. and Canada. I write poetry, play the banjo, and hike whenever I have free time!

While my goal is to pursue a Ph.D. in Literature, I also have a passion for being outdoors and working with the environment. In the past, I’ve volunteered at a community-based farm in my home state. I’m excited to be an AmeriCorps Cape Cod member and look forward to gaining new experiences.