Wellfleet Members

The LeHac House

 

Sarah Comstock

I recently graduated from the College of Wooster with a degree in Biology. In my time on campus, I was a member of the women’s rugby team, president of the Women in STEM club, a member of Tri-Beta, Epsilon Kappa Omicron, and Amnesty International. For my senior thesis I was able to design my own project on paternal glass frog behaviors and spent a couple weeks deep in the Costa Rican jungle conducting my research. During the summers, I usually work on Lake George in the Adirondacks, usually at Silver Bay YMCA but most recently at the Darrin Fresh Water Institute. I have two dogs, a fish, and a Madagascar hissing cockroach. My hobbies include painting, music, video games, reading, hiking, and archery. After AmeriCorps, I would like to attend graduate school for a Masters in Animal Behavior or Zoology.

Jenna La Fontaine

I am a 24-year-old originally from New Haven, Connecticut. I attended a public high school that specialized in aquaculture and marine technology/engineering and am excited to be returning to this focus in Cape Cod.

I have spent the past five years studying (political science) and working in first Worcester and then Boston, Massachusetts at various non-profits. I am proud to come from a community of people who enjoy and believe in volunteering to better our community. Specifically, I enjoyed serving at a weekly Boston soup kitchen for the past three years. I am excited to serve in my new community on the Cape.

Adrienne Tardif

My name is Adrienne, and I’m 20 years old. I grew up here on Cape Cod and graduated from Dennis-Yarmouth Regional High School in 2016. I have always been passionate about protecting and taking care of the beautiful place we live. I joined this program for a gap year after 2 years of college and feeling like I needed to find my place and serve others in a new way.

I am very excited to be a part of AmeriCorps Cape Cod, and to see what the future will bring.

Samuel Collins

Hello! My name is Sam, and I hail from Shrewsbury, MA. I have recently moved to Chatham here on the Cape, which is a second home for me with my family and friends living here. I recently graduated from Lyndon State College in Vermont where I studied atmospheric sciences. I have always been fascinated by the weather and how it impacts communities of any size, which drove my interest in the emergency management field. Outside the classroom I worked as a public safety student worker, a van driver for the college’s field trips, and helped organize and execute the 300+ attended Northeastern Storm Conference, one of the largest student run conferences in the nation.

In my free time I enjoy reading, running, watching TV and exploring back roads around the Cape. Cape Cod has played an important role in my life, and I look forward to returning the favor this year!

Benjamin Cockrell

I am 22 years old and I am a fairly simple guy. I live on this earth, and so I am passionate about caring for it, whether that be through people or the environment they are living in. Our world has so much beauty to share if we are willing to look. I try to stay flexible when something new, and AmeriCorps Cape Cod presented a perfect opportunity for me work on my interests and strengths congruently.

Logistically, I grew up in Camp Hill, Pennsylvania. May of 2018, I graduated from Ouachita Baptist University in Arkadelphia, AR where I double majored in International Relations and Social Justice. Over the years, I have had the privilege of working in various outdoor occupations across the world related to mountain biking, rock climbing, backcountry backpacking, organic farming, sustainable engineering, and many others. It never gets old to be outside.

I run all the time; I climb as much as I can, and I am amped to work alongside my fellow AmeriCorps members!

Phoebe Plank

Hey there! My name is Phoebe, I’m 22 years old, and am from North Ferrisburgh, Vermont. I just recently graduated from St. Lawrence University with a major in Conservation Biology and a minor in African Studies. During my time at St. Lawrence I spent a semester studying abroad in Kenya learning about the intricacies of Kenya’s environments, varying cultures, and societal developments. For the past six summers I have worked as a camp counselor at both recreational and outdoor exploration-based summer camps in Vermont. I am excited to take all that I have learned as a student and apply it to contributing to the active conservation and preservation of Cape Cod’s beautiful natural landscape with AmeriCorps Cape Cod.

In my free time I like to go running, read a good book, or curl up for a nice cat nap. I also really enjoy hiking and camping. I am so excited to start my next adventure with AmeriCorps Cape Cod and am looking forward to seeing where the journey takes me!

Courtney King

My name is Courtney King, and I’m from a small town near Albany, NY. I’m 21 years old and recently graduated from SUNY Geneseo, a college in Western New York, where I received a degree in Biology with a minor in Environmental Studies. I am interested in ecology and conservation biology, and I hope to explore these interests further through serving with AmeriCorps Cape Cod. I spent last summer as an intern for the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation, during which I assisted in water quality monitoring efforts. This experience helped me to further realize my career interests and allowed me to canoe and kayak in lakes across the state! In college, I had a separate internship with the Department of Environmental Conservation, which allowed me to assist with various fish and wildlife surveys. I also had the opportunity to research, using audio recordings, how wildlife responds to solar eclipses. After serving, I plan on pursuing a master’s degree in Wildlife Ecology or a related field.

Apart from my academic interests, I enjoy reading, running, and spending time outdoors. I enjoy volunteering as well and was a member of the service fraternity Alpha Phi Omega throughout my college career. When I can, I like to travel. I spent a semester abroad in Costa Rica, and more recently went on a backpacking trip across Europe. I have visited Cape Cod before and am excited to return and give back to the community!

Jordan Fleming

Hi, my name is Jordan. I am 22 years old, and I’m from a small town just outside of Athens, Georgia. I am a recent college graduate from the University of Georgia (Go Dawgs!), where I received a Bachelor of Arts degree in International Affairs. In my spare time I enjoy spending time outdoors with my family’s dogs, hiking, reading, writing, exploring new places, and just seeing where my curiosity takes me.

I discovered my passion for the environment and ecology after a study abroad in Australia that focused on sustainability and animal behavior. Not only did I make some incredible memories, but I came back from that trip knowing that environmental conservation was an area that I’d have to pursue in the future. I was also a Public Service and Outreach student scholar at UGA, where I had the opportunity to learn and work on service projects, as well as intern with the State Botanical Gardens of Georgia for a semester. I’m excited to put my skills to use in a new place to help out the community and environment, and to experience life as an AmeriCorps member on Cape Cod!

Amber Andrews

Hello, my name is Amber Andrews, I am 22 years old, and from Connecticut where I have received a Bachelor’s Degree of Science in the Justice and Law Administration field from Western Connecticut State University.

I have acquired the skills to de-escalate situations and to think quickly on my feet as a Resident Assistant and as a camp counselor. Although I may not have dealt with major events that may be considered a disaster I can assure you that I do not buckle under pressure.

I have been told that I am honest, and outgoing. Despite being outgoing I am also an introvert so I like to do things on my own such as, reading (fiction) and hiking. Other things I like to do are camping, watching movies, and tubing.

Samantha Pierce

Hi! My name is Samantha and I’m 23 years old from Clearwater, Florida. I graduated from the University of South Florida with a major in Biological Health Sciences and worked as a medical scribe throughout college. I was also super involved in Greek life with my sorority, Gamma Phi Beta. After a few years of working in the medical field, I decided it wasn’t for me and decided to pursue a track in environmental conservation.

I love to travel and am actively working on visiting all 50 states. I love nature, exploring, and spending time outdoors but this will be my first time experiencing a winter outside of Florida (I’ve also never seen snow!)

Rachel Hoyt

Hey! My name is Rachel Hoyt. I am 22 years old and from a small town in central Indiana. Recently, I graduated with my Bachelor of Science degree in Biology from Purdue University. During my time at Purdue, I was fortunate enough to participate in a semester study abroad program at the University of Canterbury in Christchurch, New Zealand. I spent much of my free time during that semester exploring the beautiful natural landscape of the island. This experience strengthened my love and passion for the environment and gave me hands-on experience in environmental research, GIS, and conservation efforts.

In my spare time, I enjoy traveling, hiking, backpacking, kayaking, snorkeling, reading, and hooking my hammock up and just relaxing. I am very passionate about reducing plastic use and its removal from the world’s oceans. I am beyond thrilled to be serving with the AmeriCorps Cape Cod program and cannot to see what adventures present themselves!

CJ Pettinger

My name is CJ and I’m 23 years old. I grew up in Fargo, ND and completed my B.A. studying biochemistry at the College of St. Benedict/St. John’s University in central Minnesota. Growing up in Fargo, ND and living on the Red River, I have made sandbags and helped lay sandbags for three major flooding years (2009, 2010, 2011). Through this, I gained an interest and respect for the world’s natural waterways and the impact water can have on human health and society.

I’ve spent five summers working in the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness (border of Ontario and Minnesota) as a canoe guide where I gained an interest in environmental issues and the many controversies around water quality and preservation. I then spent a year in service with the Franciscan Community Volunteers where I work in transitional housing with homeless youth, connecting them with local resources and helping with independent living skills.

In my spare time I enjoy going to local festivals and outdoor events, canoeing, camping, and reading. I’m excited to live near an ocean and to experience working towards the wellness of the Earth!